The DEFINITIVE way on how to LeetCode properly. (Hint: You are most likely doing it wrong!)

General Rules

• This Forum Rules:
    1. No asking for course requests or download links.
    2. Don't share links to other websites for downloads or references.
    3. Avoid controversial topics in discussions.

4. Use an appropriate thread title that matches your content, not just a word.

Other Forum Rules Can Be Found Here

hogwarts_dropout

TutFlixer
Dec 8, 2020
Mars
Found it on Reddit.. Thought might be helpful here...
You don't have permission to view the spoiler content. Log in or register now.

Will keep it short and simple.

I'm a new grad, and I received several offers from top companies and well known unicorns / startups.

How did I do it? Leetcode.

That's the name of the game currently. If you can do Leetcode, you WILL get a top offer from a top company. Thats all there is to it.

Here is how to properly leetcode:

DO NOT attempt to solve any questions on your own (YET!). Yes, you heard me right. I know I sound crazy. But solving ANYTHING on your own is a complete and utter waste of time. Don't even spend 5 minutes on a problem. You do not have the base knowledge yet. You will simply be getting frustrated, and spinning your wheels.

So, what do you do? simple.

1. Go to grokking the coding interview (no DONT buy it. Waste of money) and look at their list of patterns.
  2. Pick one pattern, and go to leetcode. Search for problems with that pattern.
  3. Go through each problem for the pattern, and go STRAIGHT to the solution. Do not even spend 1 second trying to solve the problem. WASTE OF TIME.
  4. Understand the solution DEEPLY. Make notes. Google things you don't understand. Watch videos on youtube about the solution. Go to the discussion section on leetcode and see what others came up with. Play around with the solution, modify variables, etc. Basically... UNDERSTAND THE SOLUTION AS DEEPLY AS YOU CAN
  5. Move on to the next problem, and repeat.